After almost 30 years, a groundbreaking talk-show host suspects she may soon be losing her coveted seat on late-night television unless she manages a game-changing transformation in Late Night, the first feature film from Emmy-nominated writer and producer Mindy Kaling.

Legendary talk-show host Katherine Newbury (Oscar® winner Emma Thompson) is a pioneer in her field. The only woman ever to have a long-running program on late night, she keeps her writers’ room on a short leash ― and all male. But when her ratings plummet and she is accused of being a “woman who hates women,” Katherine puts gender equality on her to-do list and impulsively hires Molly Patel (Mindy Kaling), a chemical plant efficiency expert from suburban Pennsylvania, as the first and only female on her writing staff.

With rumors swirling that Katherine is being replaced by a younger, hipper male host, she demands that the writers make her funny and relevant again. A lifelong fan, Molly is determined to prove she’s not just a diversity hire, but the one person who can turn her idol’s career around. Going against everything Katherine has staked her reputation on, she urges her to make the show more contemporary, authentic and personal, a move that could make Molly’s career ― or send her back to the chemical plant for good.


Best Picture

Mindy Kaling, p.g.a.
Howard Klein, p.g.a.
Jillian Apfelbaum, p.g.a.
Ben Browning, p.g.a.

Best Directing

Nisha Ganatra

Best Original Screenplay

Mindy Kaling

Best Actress In A Leading Role

Emma Thompson

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Max Casella, Hugh Dancy, Ike Barinholtz, Denis O'Hare, Reid Scott, John Lithgow

Best Actress In A Supporting Role

Mindy Kaling, Amy Ryan, Megalyn Echikunwoke

Best Cinematography

Matthew Clark

Best Film Editing

Eleanor Infante, David Rogers ACE

Best Original Score

Music by Lesley Barber

Best Original Song

"Forward Motion" Music & Lyrics by Diane Warren, Performed by Daya

Best Production Design

Elizabeth Jones (Production Designer)
Starlet Jacobs (Art Director)
Henriette Vittadini (Set Decorator)

Best Costume Design

Mitchell Travers

Best Makeup And Hairstyling

Margie Durand (Makeup Department Head)
Milagros Medina-Cerdeira (Key Makeup Artist)
Jasen Sica (Hair Department Head)
Gary Martori (Key Hair)

Best Sound Editing

Todd Toon, Glynna Grimala (Supervising Sound Editors)

Best Sound Mixing

Allison Jackson (Sound Mixer)
Andy Koyama, Gabriel J. Serrano (Re-recording mixers)

Official Trailer

Final Trailer

Featurette: Women In Comedy

Featurette: Making Of